RSS

IS IT A SIN TO DRINK?

06 Dec

By Terry Loving

“The children of alcoholics can break the cycle, many end up loathing alcohol and refusing to let it destroy their lives like it may have done to their parents.”

Anything that is classified as “sin,” can only be supported and defined in God’s Word. Apart from the Bible, what is viewed as “sin” is based on personal perceptions and opinions. Therefore, to rightly answer the question – “Is It a Sin to Drink?” – We must seek God’s view on the matter.

According to man’s definition, “sin” is defined as, 1. “Transgression of divine law: the sin of Adam; 2. “any reprehensible or regrettable action, behavior, lapse, etc.: great fault or offense; to offend against a principle, standard, etc.”1

………………………..

There are no suitable words in the English language to describe the horror of growing up with alcoholism and domestic violence. What I witnessed was “reprehensible” actions and behaviors, but none “regrettable.” There was “great fault” and “offense” towards my mother, my siblings and myself. And there were no “principles” or “standards” in my mother’s house – only chaos, violence, molestation, starvation, neglect, and a host of other evils.

………………………..

Biblically speaking, yes, their drinking amounted to sin. Why? Because the drunks I grew up with were like those in Proverbs 4:17, “For they eat the bread of wickedness And drink the wine of violence,” – NASB

When they drank, they were VIOLENT! All sorts of wickedness came forth from their characters, and they committed acts that were sinful, and totally against the Will of God.  The following scripture describes the violent drunks I grew up with:

………………………..

“Who has woe? Who has sorrow?
Who has contentions? Who has complaining?
Who has wounds without cause?
Who has redness of eyes?
Those who linger long over wine,
Those who go to taste mixed wine.
Do not look on the wine when it is red,
When it sparkles in the cup,
When it goes down smoothly;
At last it bites like a serpent
And stings like a viper.
Your eyes will see strange things
And your mind will utter perverse things,
And you will be like one who lies down in the middle of
the sea,
Or one who lies down on top of a mast.
They struck me, but I did not become ill;
They beat me, but I did not know it.
When shall I awake?
I will seek another drink.”

(Proverbs 23:29-35)

………………………..

“No longer drink water exclusively, but use a little wine for the sake of your stomach and your frequent ailments.” (1Timothy 5:23)

This scripture refers to medicinal purposes of wine drinking. More so, this particular wine most likely was not fermented wine, the kind that makes men go mad.

………………………..

As far as Christians, drinking, smoking, fornicating, and any other offense to God – we must strive to eliminate these things from our spiritual walk. Is it easy? Not always. People develop “strongholds” in their lives leftover from worldly living. Sometimes our dark places take time to heal as we turn from sin.We may have concern for our health and the effects of our actions on others, still – it takes time and help from God to change.

We fall time and time again when we try to give up offenses on our own. We cannot rise to holiness without God, and the blood of Christ. We must desire to do so above all else, and allow God to control our lives.

“Some 55% of family violence occurs in alcoholic homes with alcohol a factor in 90% of child abuse cases.”

Warning over parent alcohol abuse ‘child effect’

Children of alcoholics ‘damaged’

How people beat the demon drink

ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS

………………………………….

http://www.spiritual-side-of-domestic-violence.org

http://spiritual-side-of-domestic-violence.org/id19.html

1http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/sin

No portion of this web site may be copied, edited, or used in any form without prior permission.

© Spiritual Side of Domestic Violence Org., 2009
All rights reserved.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “IS IT A SIN TO DRINK?

  1. a

    December 22, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    Wait jesus drank wine. As Jesus sinned? He also turned water to wine. Drunkenness is the sin. Also paul said red wine should be used for stomach problem.

     
  2. eahill58

    January 6, 2013 at 10:33 am

    I think Alcohol is a bad thing, and causes a lot of pain to families, i know i was married to one,but the Bible does not forbis the drinking of fermented Wine, in Deuteronomy 14 v 26 it says ‘thou shalt bestow your money for whatever thy soul desireth,for Wine OR STRONG DRINK,and you shall do it before the Lord’,thats the King James version, but the N.I.V says the actual words ‘fermented’ I dont drink much myself, i hate the taste,I am surprised the Pastor in the clip did not know this!!

     
    • ssofdv

      January 6, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      Hello eahill58,

      My post was not a declaration that it is a sin to drink period.

      Drunkenness is condemned for the pain it causes, to individuals and others. Drunken individuals no longer see children as children, but sex objects – those who are sober do so as well. Too much abuse takes place under the influence of mind altering drugs. Social drinking often leads to drunkenness, and a lifelong habit that cannot be broken for many.

      I grew up with alcoholics, and prefer not to be in the company of those whose minds are altered to another state. God does equip individuals to bear with those who prefer drunkenness, but I am not one of them. If a person desires to drink, hey – go for it! They do not have to answer to me, but it is my choice and right to not be in their company.

      “Strong drink” destroyed our family life, and my siblings and I suffered a great deal. I have many friends who grew up under the same conditions, and they suffered as well. When alcoholism is mixed with domestic violence – it is a lethal situation.

      Thank you for your comment.
      Peace

       
  3. eahill58

    January 6, 2013 at 10:50 am

    And how could the Bible say ‘be not drunk with Wine ‘if they in fact drank Grape Juice??, i have met others who say Jesus wouldn’t have turned the water into fermented Wine.But no one has been able to answer the Deut 14 v 26 question yet though? It goes back to where the Bible says that Mans mind always seeks after evil, Gods perfect world He gave us has been spoilt by Mans sin,grapes turned in to fermented wine, beautiful Poppys into drugs,These were not His Intentions when He put them on this beautiful planet for us to enjoy.

     
    • ssofdv

      January 6, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      Hello eahill58,

      I think the burning question was whether or not Jesus turned water into “fermented” wine. There is no doubt that “fermented” wine existed in Biblical times.

      The whole point of my post was the relationship between drunkenness and sin. Many sins are committed under the influence of strong drink – abuse, rape, domestic violence, murder, etc. It was my intent to show how devastating excessive consumption of alcoholic beverages can be to our families and society as a whole. And yes, man spoiled the good God gave us, and turned our earth into a living nightmare.

      Sin during sobriety is bad, under the influence of drugs and alcohol – it can be deadly.

      Thank you for your comment. Here is a link that may be of interest to you.

      http://www.scripturessay.com/when-jesus-turned-the-water-into-wine-was-it-fermented/
      Peace

       
  4. eahill58

    January 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

    I know Lundy Bancroft in his book’ why does he do that says that Alcohol is not an excuse for abusers,he means i think that Alcohol does not ‘make’ us do anything, as you say though of course it is definitely sin,abuse is Sin too,in the book’ Beaten into submission’ the Author says that Violence is Sin, and is not recognised enough in Church as SIN, it also says too that some Pastors tell women to return to Abusive Violent Husbands,they soon change their Minds when their own Daughters are in the situation and feel really bad about the other women,some of them it will be too late for.
    In Churches where they appose Abortion,Euthanasia they are sending women back to known Dangerous Husbands, sometimes it seems to me the some Christian women in the West are no better off that women who live under Islam. Our lives have such little worth. (i appose abortion and Euthanasia too!)

     
    • ssofdv

      January 10, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      Hello eahill58,

      No, alcohol does not “make” anyone do anything – it only gives evil courage to carry out what is within the heart already. Alcohol gives people the “nerve” to do things they would not do when sober. It also changes your perception, and distorts your mind. Alcohol is the devil’s gateway to your soul, and so are drugs and all mind altering substances.

      Matthew 12:35 “The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him.”

      Jesus Christ made this statement:

      (Mark 7:20-23) And He was saying, “That which proceeds out of the man, that is what defiles the man. {21} “For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed the evil thoughts, fornications, thefts, murders, adulteries, {22} deeds of coveting and wickedness, as well as deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride and foolishness. {23} “All these evil things proceed from within and defile the man.”

      The subject of “sin” isn’t very popular today, as well as the subject of “hell.” And for this reason, I believe – Judgment will begin with the house of God. 1 Peter 4:17

      The people of God will be the first judged, for God’s wrath will be fierce! It will break His heart to destroy so many souls because of sin. Today’s “Christians” are not concerned with lost souls, and do not speak out about sin and hell. We will be responsible for many lost souls due to indifference and unbelief.

      So what is sin? The moral character of a man’s actions is determined by the moral state of his heart. The disposition to sin, or the habit of the soul that leads to the sinful act, is itself also sin (Romans 6:12-17; Galatians 5:17; James 1:14, 15).

      Anyone who counsels an abused woman to return to abuse either: do not understand domestic abuse; do not know how to assist; do not want to get involved; are fearful or just do not care. Yes, sometimes help can come a little too late.

      Women all over the world are suffering at the hands of men. Christian women in this country would fare much better if there were more ministers in the pulpit who teach the Word like it should be taught. Most of them are cowards, and self-taught to the point of not rightly dividing Scripture – and are part of the “good ole boys network.” Sigh.

      “Our lives have such little worth.”
      Only to men – not so with God.

      Thank you for your comment.
      Peace

       
      • eahill58

        January 11, 2013 at 4:51 am

        Yes, its very true, everything you say,the Church i was saved into was very Male Dominated, the Pastor was Texan,Italian descent,he once said to me ‘God will not allow your Husband to hit you’ whan he did he said unbelievably,’ what did you do’.?…(it would have to be my fault of course)!!!.. my Husband went to the co -Pastor, also Texan, crying, saying i would not ‘Submit’ to him! ( that Pastor was cleverer though and rightly told me it was not my fault he chose to hit me.)
        The Pastors wife was almost the worst though, i rang her before he started to hit me and said i was very Frightened he would start,she said because the bible says there is no fear in Christ Jesus I WAS WRONG……left the church shortly after my Husband held a pair of Sissors to my throat saying he would cut ‘my face off’,the Pastor angrilily ordered me to take all my Five Kids to that nights meeting ,i did, very difficult, My Husband kept going to the Church,although i had got him to leave the house,so i had to sit on the other side of church from him,shaking with fear,and vomiting sometimes too!…
        I finally divorced Him 7 years ago,after hardly and contact with him over the Past 18yrs ,i have been going to a church on the other side of town when my caring duties allow, for 16 years,and had friends nearby the church who i would go with, they would come and pray and fellowship with me two or three times a week,until August 2011 when my Ex-husband started to show his face at my friends, he had done this several times before in the 18yrs, i always had to give up the friends,i told them his pattern, and Abuse,they of course Judged ME as unforgiving, and of course he told them that he was not doing this to ‘Stalk’ me, or to try to get back with me!
        Several times throuh the years other friends have thought they were hearing from God that we should reconcile,and that he had really changed now he was truly ‘Born again’!!… It all his lies,and manipulation by Him….
        So now he goes to the Church i have been going to, i fainted a few times when i first saw him there…,i told the Pastor wife,about his abuse, and some other women who looked after me after i fainted,he is now well established in the church helping out daily.
        I kept going for a while,until an Instance where he blocked the Exit,not a big thing to others, but very scary,its the same thing as in 1997,as 2011-12.I did not speak to him,at all through any of this time, but of course he could make general comments,he was careful what he said in front of others,and i made sure i was never alone with him.
        The blocking incident was April 12, i have not been back since, no one from the church has called or contacted me, despite knowing i am a lone carer for my Autistic son.In June this year he tried to talk to me at my friends house,we were alone for about 30 seconds before i ran out of the room,!!!..I have not been back there since,and have had to end the friendship again. i went to the Police,they said as he had not threatened me there was nothing they could do.
        So i have been shutting myself away since June, i have been to another Solicitor in November and he has been threatened with an Injunction (restraining order) he he talks or approaches me again.She has also written to the Police to officially inform them.
        I have got some confidence back, and over Christmas and new year have been getting to christian meetings,i feel free now.
        Yes i have been badly let down by churches,it took me a long time to Forgive the first Pastor, whose total devaluing of my life to send me back into that situation was shocking, but he is is the one whose street evangelism brought me to the Lord,so He has given me the Pearl of great Price!

         
      • ssofdv

        January 18, 2013 at 4:18 pm

        Oh, what happened to “God will not allow your Husband to hit you?”

        “what did you do’.?…(it would have to be my fault of course)!!!..”

        Never your fault! Abusers have a choice always. Walk away is a very good one. Nothing good comes out of abuse for both parties.

        “my Husband went to the co -Pastor, also Texan, crying, saying i would not ‘Submit’ to him!”

        Abusers have a really warped idea of “submission.” Submission in the Bible is not for women only, but for all who claim to live a life for Jesus Christ. Humble submission is commanded of all who follow Christ. They just do not get it. Also, a wife who gladly submits to her husband means that he is doing what he is commanded to do as well.

        The Pastors wife was almost the worst though, i rang her before he started to hit me and said i was very Frightened he would start,she said because the bible says there is no fear in Christ Jesus I WAS WRONG……left the church shortly after my Husband held a pair of Sissors to my throat saying he would cut ‘my face off’,the Pastor angrilily ordered me to take all my Five Kids to that nights meeting ,i did, very difficult, My Husband kept going to the Church,although i had got him to leave the house,so i had to sit on the other side of church from him,shaking with fear,and vomiting sometimes too!…

        Too many people start churches and have no real spiritual discernment to speak of. Churches are started these days because they are viewed as big business. Where else can you get people to part with their money so freely? This is not what God intended, but what man has made it to be. So, the response from the Pastor and his wife does not surprise me. The Pastor dismissed your feelings and the danger your lives were in at the time – shame on him!

        In my opinion, your ex is driven by an evil spirit. Why else would he stalk you and make life miserable even after divorce. And for so-called Christians to call you “unforgiving” and urge you to go back, I say, “Phooey on them!” You did the right thing by distancing yourself from their company. Male-dominated churches are not of God, especially when women are viewed insignificant and beneath them. In the end, God will set things straight.

        I am happy to hear that all is well for you now, and I pray that things remain peaceful.

         
  5. eahill58

    January 22, 2013 at 6:29 am

    Thank you so much for your response, full of wisdom and love as usual! I have been praying and seeking God over what you said about my ex being driven by an Evil spirit, its so true! Now i have stopped hiding away,at home and being scared to go out, i will pray against this Evil Spirit before i leave the house, it has been a very painful time since June, the last time he tried to talk to me,the Lord has been leading me through a wildernes time, just me and Him,I had to go through what i remember of the abuse,knowing that God was there through it all, kept me safe, and will keep me safe today! I have put on 28 pounds,in that time, so i have got some exercise equipment at home now, and so i can get exercise even when i cant go to the gym! I have joined a slimming scheme, so i feel my life is getting so much better! Jesus gives us the Victory over the Enemy and all HIS DEVICES! Praise Him.Love and blessings to you and your wonderful Ministry

     
    • ssofdv

      January 22, 2013 at 10:25 pm

      Oh how I wish I could give you a great big hug right now! Yes, we are in a spiritual battle and the devil has his ways of making our lives miserable through others. Combat this evil with the armor of God and speak His words against the attacks. There is POWER in the blood of the Lamb, and God gave us the tools to stand against evil in this world. The battle belongs to Christ, and He already won it. Rebuke that evil spirit in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

      So happy to be in touch with you. You encourage me more than you know. Thank you for your kind words.

      God bless your life with His everlasting peace.
      Terry

       

Leave a Reply

 
