RSS

My Adorable Cock-a-Poo

09 Oct

If you are lonely, get a dog.

You have heard it said that “dogs make wonderful companions.” Well, take it from me – it is true. My Cock-a-poo is about two-years old, and a gift from my son. She once belonged to children that didn’t take time for her, and she spent many lonely days and nights in their garage, in a cage – probably crying her heart out. The kids weren’t cruel to her, just weren’t feeling her I guess – lucky break for me.

………………………………….

My cuties’ name is Cherry as you can tell by the picture; I don’t know what I would do without her. It’s been said that “Cock-a-Poo’s have the intelligence of a two-year old” – she has proven that and much more. Since her experience in the garage though, she has separation anxiety issues. She does not like to be left alone.

………………………………….

I am taking a break today from writing about domestic violence today, and my Cherry is a wonderful distraction. It would be freaky is she could talk, but that would be so cool! Just the same, we have learned to communicate through eye contact, whining, fidgeting, nudging, and her sitting and staring at me until I get her drift. And boy does she like to play, and play and play.

………………………………….


Cherry has an under bite that makes her even cuter. When she sniffs the air, her bottom teeth stick out. Funny, she has an under bite, and I have an over bite. Kid friendly, oh yes! Every child that comes into contact with her loves her. She does have her moments once in a while – her “leave me alone” – snap – but that is when she is handled too much.  I can relate.

………………………………….

If you can afford to care for a dog like Cherry, it would help to take the pain of loneliness away. Especially when the nest becomes empty, or you are going through a break-up. Even for the elderly they make great companions. She loves to ride in the car with the window down – and letting the wind blow her ears back. And she makes a super great watch dog. In fact, she has a chair by the window so she can see what’s going on outside. Of course she barks at just about anything and everyone – but that can be a good thing sometimes.

………………………………….

When healing from domestic violence and abuse, having someone or a pet to hug makes a huge difference. I hug Cherry all the time, in fact I am guilty of spoiling her – perhaps a little too much. Coming home to an empty house will make the escape from violence much more painful. Cherry is so ecstatic to see me when I come home, even when I just run a quick errand. It is nice to know that you are missed, even for a short while.

………………………………….

Having a pet is also a break from human demands. As long as Cherry’s basic needs are met, she’s loved, and we play awhile – she is happy. There, that isn’t too much to ask for is it? Humans, well – that’s another story. By the way, dogs are more loyal too. They will stand by you through the good and the challenging times. Humans, well – maybe. They also sense when you are sad, ill, crying, and not in such a good mood. Her eyes don’t ask, “Well, what’s wrong with you now!” She just snuggles up and stays close. Humans – if only.

Anyway, I hope this post will make you smile. Enjoy your day.

Cherry’s mom

No portion of this web site may be copied, edited, or used in any form without prior permission.

© Spiritual Side of Domestic Violence Org., 2009
All rights reserved.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
