RSS

HOMOPHOBIC – OR STANDING ON THE WORD OF GOD?

04 Oct
A bearded man making love with a beardless you...

Image via Wikipedia

By Terry Loving

It wasn’t my plan to write about homosexuality presently. However, with all that is going on with the Bishop Eddie Long situation, I must weigh in on the subject. First and foremost, I am on God’s side. He says homosexuality is “detestable” therefore, it is “detestable”. There are many things that humanity does that are “detestable” in His sight, even our very thoughts.

………………………………………………………….

I am not homo-phobic in the least – just wanted to clear that up first. I have a cousin who is a lesbian, and I love her just the same. I worked with a homosexual, tried to witness to him, but to no avail. I will tell you his story in a few. There was a homosexual couple that wore wedding rings and lived together; I was one of their acquaintances, introduced by way of our writing interests. One ended up HIV positive, and the other was literally – “rescued” from the relationship by his Christian relatives. I have known several “gay” people in the course of my life-time. One young woman that I had known tried to convince me that she was a lesbian because she was “born that way.” I tried to show her different from the Bible, but she refused to believe God.

………………………………………………………….

The guy that I worked with, I will call him “B” – died from a massive heart attack at the age of 40. “B” was Caucasian, and a very nice person to know. One day at work, I asked him  “how he came to live his lifestyle”. He said that “when he was young, his uncle and his friends forced him to participate in anal sex”. I am putting his words mildly. Unfortunately, “B” told me that he “grew to like it.” Therefore, “B” made a conscious choice to continue these homosexual acts, and stated that, “it was too late for him to change.” Although I shared the Gospel with him concerning this matter, it was no use. Even the mention of being cast away from God for all eternity did not change his mind and direction.

………………………………………………………….

I lost contact with the acquaintance who was HIV positive. It is a great possibility that he is no longer living, for when I saw him last, he was not looking well at all. I think of him occasionally, and my thoughts are always on his salvation.

My cousin had a horrible child-hood. Her parents weren’t very nice, and she and her brother suffered much abuse. I don’t know all the details – I just know that she chose the lesbian lifestyle for whatever reason. There are family members that have nothing to do with her, but I still love her and would hug her anytime I could be with her. Since moving to Atlanta though, I don’t get to see her anymore.

………………………………………………………….

As I stated one night in my history class at college – “God would be unjust to condemn a person for doing something they could not help.” Our class was having a discussion, and one young lady defended her lesbian friend by stating that she was “born that way.” Homosexuality is totally against the will of God. And for Him to condemn a soul to hell for homosexuality having “made” them that way, that truly would be unfair of Him. “What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all!”  (Romans 9:14)

“If there is a man who lies with a male as those who lie with a woman, both of them have committed a detestable act; they shall surely be put to death. Their bloodguiltiness is upon them.” (Leviticus 20:13)

………………………………………………………….

On several occasions, “B” would call me over to his register, have me look down a certain isle to see the man that he was excitedly scoping out to flirt with. I would make a comment like, “You’re a trip.” And I would walk away shaking my head. My heart ached for him, but I knew that I could not change his sexual preferences. I shared scripture, and what God has to say about homosexuality – there was nothing more that I could do except pray for him. “B” was one of the sweetest guys I ever met. But he was gay – and he was lost. When I think of “B” and how the sight of another man excited him, I couldn’t help but think of the men who raped him. They changed his life forever.

………………………………………………………….

It is true that “God so loved the world…” Look how long He has been putting up with us. And yes, God loves homosexuals, prostitutes, liars, murderers, and all who commit wrong-doing. As the saying goes, “God loves the sinner, but hates the sin.” He loves His creation, but hates the wrong. It is the world’s system that accuses Christians of being “homophobic,” pressing hard to infiltrate, and further watering down the Holy Gospel of Christ. On the other hand, weak Christians give in to the pressure of being religiously correct, and nullify the pure Word of God. Both sides must answer to God.

………………………………………………………….

There is a “new definition of homophobic” which states, “anyone who stands against homosexuality as a sin is homophobic.”1

Ok, so what are they saying? Are the Creator of the world “homophobic” and His dear Son who died for all unfairly against homosexuality? Their stand on homosexuality is very clear, and it will not change. So, the choice really boils down to dissing God and His Son in favor of homosexuality, or upholding the Word of God – standing fast until the end. You are either on one side of the other – there is no middle ground.

…” let God be found true, but every man a liar;” (Romans 3:4)

“Forever, O LORD, Your word is settled in heaven”. (Psalm 119:89)

………………………………………………………….

“What are churches going to do when non-profit status is threatened because a Biblical view on homosexuality is being preached?

Change what is preached?

Or remain faithful?”

1 http://www.crosswalk.com/news/11576450/

No portion of this web site may be copied, edited, or used in any form without prior permission.

© Spiritual Side of Domestic Violence Org., 2009
All rights reserved.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
