RSS

MICHAEL JACKSON

29 Jun
 
-What His Death Means To Me
For some unknown reason, my soul was exceedingly sad all of last week. I could not put a name to the sadness that I was feeling, I just felt like a heavy weight was bearing down upon me. And then the news of the passing of Michael Jackson, Farrah Fawcett, and Ed McMann, really sent my distressed soul into overload–I cried.
I have been known as a “deep thinker,” and I was surveying our world last week. Perhaps that is one of the reasons for the sadness. There is so much pain, death, and destruction that watching the nightly news can be very disheartening. The sad state of our world  makes me weep deep inside. Even though there was domestic violence in our home growing up, I was so sure that the rest of the world was much safer, and better than living at home.
As a Baby Boomer, I grew up listening, and dancing to the music of many Motown talents, especially the Jackson Five. I have always felt a sadness for Michael, for from his personal interviews, I knew that I shared something in common with him-abuse and a stolen childhood. Because of this, he always had a special place within my heart. Our situations at home did have differences, however, abuse is abuse, and the loss of innocence can be confusing and have dire consequences.
I turned off the news reports of Michael-momentarily, to reflect on what his death means to me personally. I watched his music videos on YouTube, and studied him for a few days. Michael Jackson gave his gifts from God his all! The memory of his musical genius will last as long as this present earth exists-I believe that. And I don’t believe that there will be another Michael Jackson, ever. But guess what? Whoever you are, there will never be another you either. There will never be another me, Terry, ever.
My gift from God is writing. My goal is first to lift up the name of Jesus Christ through my writing, and to do my part in ending domestic violence. Michael’s death has given me a renewed sense of purpose and destiny. Michael had a tomorrow in mind, but tomorrow isn’t promised to anyone. So whatever I desire to accomplish in this life, it must be accelerated, and carried out as if each day could be my last on earth. The saying, “Here today and gone tomorrow” no longer applies to life as we know it. Now it is, “Here today, and gone today.” Michael Jackson was here, alive on the 25th of June of 2009. But he died that “today,” the 25th. As the case with Farrah Fawcett.
And to those who continually judge Michael’s life, please know that you too have a Judge that will call you someday to give an account of your time and deeds on earth. Whatever Michael did to trespass God’s laws, he will give an account to God, and God alone. And all the hurtful, mean-spirited, and ugly things that you say about him in this life, you will give an account for them in the next:
 Romans 14:11-12

 “For it is written. As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.”

“So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God.”

 Matthew 12:36

“But I tell you that every careless word that people speak, they shall give an accounting for it in the day of judgment.”

 2 Corinthians 5:10

“For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.”

 And I assure you that when it is your turn to give a personal account of your life, whatever Michael Jackson did while alive won’t matter. Your mama dropped you on your head, and made you the nut-case that you are–it won’t matter. Your daddy left you, gave you no love–it won’t matter. Your neighbors have money and you are broke–it won’t matter. You will be in the presence of an Awesome, Almighty, and Just God, and you will be trembling-desiring death from His presence.

And as far as you scoffers and unbelievers, you will be in the very hell that you so much desire for Michael Jackson. You are basting your hateful remarks and feelings upon hearsay. You were not there when the allegations against Michael took place, and you certainly were not harmed by him personally in any way.

But God! Oh yes! My God was there! He is in God’s hands, inescapable, good, bad or indifferent. Why don’t you leave him there, and focus on keeping your own selves out of the devil’s hell? Who are you to say that God hasn’t forgiven Michael for any wrong committed during his life-time? And if you are so perfect, perhaps Jesus could have been spared the agony of the cross, and you should have taken His place.

John 8:7

“So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.”

 Be careful how you cast your stones!

Lastly, having been sexually abused as a child myself, I know the inner rage that a violation of innocence can produce. And I also know the deep inner pain of self-hatred, and feelings of unworthiness. I praise God for many things, and the blessings of gifts and talents are among them. For when you cannot find love, acceptance, and peace in this world, God gives us those, and much more through using our gifts. Michael was in his element when he was on stage. That was his time to come alive, feel alive and to live!

God bless you with His eternal love.

-R.I.P-

Michael, Farrah, Ed –

And all those who are no longer with us, that gave this ugly world so much, and received so little.

Terry

 
 
 

No portion of this web site may be copied, edited, or used in any form without prior permission.

© Spiritual Side of Domestic Violence Org., 2009
All rights reserved.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 29, 2009 in Michael Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

 
